Daniel

Snippets of Truth

Me:  “D, you seem a little quiet.  Are you feeling sad or are you ok?”

Daniel:  “I’m just resting, Mommy.”

Me:  “Ok, just curious.”

(later) Daniel:  “Do you know why sometimes I don’t smile a lot?”

Me:  “No, why?”

Daniel:  “No, I’m asking if you know the answer. ”

Me:  “Honey, we all feel different ways on different days and sometimes it’s ok to have a quiet-not-smiling kind of day.”

Daniel:  “Ok.  But can I tell you the truth?”

Me:  “Of course.”

Daniel:  “Can I tell you the truth whispered in your ear?”

Me:  “Yes, baby.”

Daniel (whispering):  “I am shy.”

Me:  “Today you feel shy?”

Daniel:  “No, every day I feel shy.  I am shy.  It’s just the way I am, Mommy.”

IMG_9801

Leave a Reply

