Daniel / Violet

Good To Know.

… three magic words that have transformed the level of polite questions in our home.

It all started with two children-who-will-not-be-named who decided that declaring their current state of being was enough to demand action on our part.

IE:  “I am thirsty.”  “I am hungry.”  “I am cold.”  “I want a snack.”  And then a loaded silence while they waited for a parent to take action.

Uh uh.  No way.  Not gonna happen in our house.

So, Fernando and I have been responding to every such statement with a dismissive “Good to know”.  Sound mean?  It’s not.  It’s actually MAGIC.  The kids smile a little smile and immediately re-phrase their request:  “Excuse me, may I please have a glass of water?”

Bam.

We are feeling pretty proud of ourselves at the moment.  Let’s see how long this lasts…

Photo Jan 30, 3 11 26 PM

Leave a Reply

